Giorgio Moroder’s TRON RUN/r soundtrack set to drop later this month

Early last year, electronic music icon Giorgio Moroder admitted he was working on a video game. That game was, of course, TRON RUN/r. The soundtrack contains not only original music from Moroder, but also remixes from Autechre, Plaid and Darkstar – and if you’d like to hear it outside of its gaming context, your time is nearly at hand.

Christopher Nicholls, executive producer on the standalone soundtrack, explains:

TRON spans several decades of really innovative music, whether it’s Wendy Carlos in the first film or Daft Punk. So we wanted an artist who could really span those generations in a legitimate way. If you go back to the sound of original electro disco in the ’70s, Giorgio is right at the heart of it. He’s been pushing electronic music his whole career. We wanted to nod to the first film as well as the later incarnations of the series.

In his original statement, Moroder hinted that Skrillex would be involved in the project, but he’s nowhere to be seen on this album. Instead, there are seven original tracks from Moroder and co-composer Raney Shockne, plus seven remixes from iconic artists Bibio, Darkstar, Nicholls, Patten, Autechre, Plaid and Rusko.

TRON RUN/r Original Soundtrack:
1. Run Program
2. Run Program (Bibio remix)
3. Recursion
4. Invalid Path
5. Invalid Path (Darkstar remix)
6. Delta Antliae (Nicholls remix)
7. Delta Antliae (Patten remix)
8. 611 Time Out
9. 611 Time Out (Autechre remix)
10. Decrypted
11. Memory String
12. Memory String (Plaid remix)
13. Parity Error
14. Parity Error (Rusko remix)

Tron Run/r is available now for PC, PS4 and Xbox One. The standalone soundtrack will drop on May 31, thanks to Disney and Sumthing Else Music Works. We’ll be keeping an ear out and our dancing shoes on!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Facebook Google+ Linkedin Pinterest Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr N4G Twitter