PlayStation Network plans scheduled maintenance

The PlayStation Network will be taken down for extended maintenance on October 13, says Sony. While you’ll still be able to enjoy a little multiplayer (if you’ve logged in to PSN before maintenance starts), a bunch of services will be offline for several hours.

PlayStation Network

It’s okay, this one was planned.

Services that will be offline include:

  • PlayStation Store on all devices
  • PlayStation Network Account Management
  • PlayStation Network Account Registration
  • Entertainment services
  • Online gameplay

It’s not all bad, though – PlayStation Support explains:

If you’ve signed in to the network any time since October 8th, you will be able to play games online and access partner apps such as Netflix during this maintenance period. The PlayStation Store, PlayStation Home and Account Management will not be available during this time, and users may receive a maintenance notification when attempting to access these services.

All-important times (What’s that in my timezone?):
North America: 10am PST – 5pm PST Monday October 13
Europe: 6pm BST Monday October 13 – 1am BST Tuesday October 14
Australia: 4am AEDT – 11am AEDT Tuesday October 14

During the downtime, Sony plans to deploy a series of back-end improvements to the network, which should improve the overall experience once it comes back online.

Tags: , , , , ,

Facebook Google+ Linkedin Pinterest Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr N4G Twitter