Your Heroes of the Storm progress will be wiped

If you’ve been playing Heroes of the Storm, prepare yourself: Blizzard is getting ready for the final stage of the game’s technical alpha, and that means a server reset is just around the corner.

The game – an all-star MOBA – is lining up a couple of big weeks. First up, the game’s shop will be closed from September 22. From that point, you’ll not be able to make any purchases using either real money or in-game gold. It’s not all bad though, while the shop is offline, Blizzard is putting all 29 Heroes into the free Hero rotation, so you can pick whichever one/s you’d like.

During the week after the shop’s closure, Blizzard is taking Heroes of the Storm offline for “more than a week” of maintenance.

During this time, you’ll be unable to login or play Heroes of the Storm and we’ll reset everyone’s Heroes accounts. Once the Nexus is brought back online, it will be as though you’re starting fresh with a brand new account. This means that any leveling progression you’ve made, rewards you’ve unlocked, in-game Gold you’ve earned, and any purchases you’ve made with real-money or Gold prior to the wipe will be reset.

To translate: If you’ve already spent money on the game during the Alpha test, your money is not gone for good even when everything is reset. Your purchase history will also be reset, so you’re getting all of your money refunded into your battle.net account. Then, it’s a simple matter of repurchasing your items – or picking out new ones – when the game launches properly.
To translate: If you’ve already spent money on the game during the Alpha test, your money is not gone for good even when everything is reset. Your purchase history will also be reset, so you’re getting all of your money refunded into your battle.net account. Then, it’s a simple matter of repurchasing your items – or picking out new ones – when the game launches properly.

When the game does come back online, a few things will change as you are moved to your home battle.net region:

  • You will lose access to the friends list you built in the Heroes Technical Alpha thus far. But you will regain access to your normal Battle.net friends list that you share with all other Blizzard games, including Diablo III, Hearthstone, StarCraft II, and World of Warcraft.
  • Your friends in other Blizzard games will now see you as playing Heroes of the Storm and be able to communicate with you across games.
  • If you wish to remain in contact with friends you made to this point in the Heroes of the Storm Technical Alpha, take down their BattleTags (both the account name and unique ID number) now, and add them to your friends list after the wipe. Please note however, that some of the friends you made in the Alpha may have a different home Battle.net region than you do, so it will not be possible to friend them unless you are in the same home region.

The studio explains that this is the final planned wipe/refund for Heroes of the Storm:

Our goal is to avoid future player and hero progression wipes after we come back online, but we may still need to adjust or wipe player progression with future updates. Don’t worry, though, because we’ll give you ample warning if that ever becomes necessary. What we do know is that from the moment we bring Heroes back online after this wipe, purchases you make in the Shop will be permanent. So get those Heroes, Bundles, Skins, and Mounts with the confidence that you won’t need to reacquire them again.

No precise date just yet for the shutdown, but the in-game shop is closing within the next 24 hours or so, meaning the servers will be offline as soon as Monday September 29. Don’t say we didn’t warn you!

Tags: , ,

Facebook Google+ Linkedin Pinterest Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr N4G Twitter