Last of Us wins Writers Guild of America award

Neil Druckmann, writer of Naughty Dog‘s post apocalyptic feels-breaker The Last of Us, has been awarded the Outstanding Achievement in Writing for Video Games by the Writers Guild of America this past weekend.

Druckmann’s achievement was no cake walk though, being pitted against several other writers of triple A blockbuster titles including: Darby McDevitt, Mustapha Mahrach, Jean Guesdon, Jill Murray, Nicholas Grimwood and Mark Llabres Hill for their work on Assassin’s Creed 4: Black Flag (Murray won the award last year for her work on Assassin’s Creed III: Liberation); Batman: Arkham Origins writers Dooma Wendschuh, Ryan Galletta and Corey May; Marianne Krawczyk and Ariel Lawrence penmanship on God of War: Ascension; and, Richard Gaubert, Orion Walker and Matt Sophos for Capcom’s Lost Planet 3.

Druckmann and the rest of the team at Naughty Dog can add this award to their ever growing pile of accolades for The Last of Us, including Studio of the Year and Best PlayStation Game from the 11th annual Spike Video Game Awards and possibly even more from the upcoming 2014 Game Developers Choice Awards, where they are nominated in 5 categories, one of which (unsurprisingly) is for Best Narrative.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Facebook Google+ Linkedin Pinterest Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr N4G Twitter