Horde Command Pack DLC hits Gears of War 3

Today’s a big day for Gears of War 3 fans, as the Horde Command Pack finally makes it out onto the internets. This add-on is the first of a bunch for the game, adding three new maps, three new playable characters, two new weapon skins and 250 Gamerscore worth of achievements. The partridge in a pear tree comes later.

It’s also thrown in new fortification upgrades for Horde Mode, so if you’re up for it, go grab it now. It’ll set you back 800 Microsoft Points, but if you’ve already snagged yourself a Season Pass, it’ll start downloading automatically!

[img_big]center,45,2011-10-04/dlc_blooddrive_all.jpg,New Map: Blood Drive[/img_big]

…but wait, there’s more! Epic is currently putting the finishing touches on a free downloadable content pack for Gears of War 3 – the Versus Booster Map Pack.

Expect a (slightly Locust-filled) stroll down Memory Lane with this one, as it revisists classic maps from the first Gears of War – Bullet Marsh and Clocktower.

It’s been designed primarily to brign all gamers up to the same point – even if you don’t want to fork out for the Horde Command Pack, the three new maps will be made available for free. This way, nobody misses out on multiplayer goodness on Azura, Rustlung or Blood Drive, and nobody has to pay for the privilege. All five maps will be available on dedicated servers for public matchmaking, woo!

[img_big]center,45,2011-10-04/dlc_map_rustlung.jpg,New Map: Rustlung[/img_big]

Still want more? From right now until 9am EST November 14th (that’s 6am Pacific, 2pm GMT and 1am November 15th Sydney time), Epic is running a Double XP event for Gears 3, featuring all game types.

If your brain’s not otherwise occupied with other shooty games, now’s a perfect chance to rank up and snag a bunch of unlocks.

Tags: , , , ,

Facebook Google+ Linkedin Pinterest Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr N4G Twitter