Batman: Arkham City inspires new album

The caped crusader’s upcoming video game outing is set to take over your stereo as well as your games machine. The creatively-titled Batman: Arkham City – The Album will feature 12 new, original tracks from Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Coheed and Cambria, Daughtry and Panic! At The Disco (among others). Now, Batman Forever is pretty widely accepted as one of the better film soundtracks of the past few decades – will this video game audio offering achieve those lofty peaks?

In an interesting twist, the soundtrack will actually be released before the game itself, with a download code slipped into the Collectors’ Edition of Batman: Arkham City if you haven’t already picked it up. Look out for this one starting October 4th, ahead of the game’s release on October 18th.

Batman: Arkham City - The Album

Snazzy cover art, there.

This one promises to be “an eclectic mix” of songs inspired by Batman as a character, as a story and as a phenomenon. Each of the artists approached Batman: Arkham City – The Album with their own unique interpretation, as Coheed and Cambria frontman Claudio Sanchez explains:

I write in a very conceptual format with the stories that surround Coheed and Cambria, but Batman has a much larger, defined history and rules that go along with it. My goal was to find universal themes from Batman’s existing history to help give the lyrics legs and dimension so that the song could live within that world.

Sounds intriguing, right? There’s more where that came from – here’s the full track listing:

  1. Panic! At The Disco – Mercenary
  2. Coheed and Cambria – Deranged
  3. The Duke Spirit – Creature
  4. Black Rebel Motorcycle Club – Shadow On The Run
  5. Blaqk Audio – Afterdark
  6. The Raveonettes – Oh, Stranger
  7. ††† (Crosses) – The Years
  8. The Damned Things – Trophy Widow
  9. Daughtry – Drown In You
  10. The Boxer Rebellion – Losing You
  11. Serj Tankian – Total Paranoia

…and if you pick up the Collectors’ Edition, you’ll snag another tune too – In The Shadow, by A Place to Bury Strangers.

If you’re more into the sort of audio delights created by Ron Fish and Nick Arundel like in the first game, don’t fret – their soundtrack album will also be released alongside the game from October 18th.

Developed by Rocksteady Studios and published by Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment, Arkham City is the sequel to 2009’s Batman: Arkham Asylum. The inmates, thugs, gangsters and criminal master-minds have more space to run around in, introducing a brand new story complete with an all-star cast. The devs are already calling it the “ultimate experience” as the Dark Knight – but the rest of the world has just over a month to wait before checking it all out on PS3, PC and Xbox 360.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Facebook Google+ Linkedin Pinterest Reddit Stumbleupon Tumblr N4G Twitter